Skip to content

Mac and Cheese

June 18, 2010


This recipe for Macaroni and Cheese is a staple in our household. With only a few basic ingredients, it doesn’t take much longer than the stuff from a box and tastes WAAAAYYYY better.. (I’m serious. Don’t let the simplicity fool you.) not to mention more nutritious. Serve it on white plates with applesauce and something green on the side and you’ll be feeling like a domestic goddess.. I think I need an apron with that embroidered on it.

1. I usually make it early in the day, put it in a Pyrex baking dish, cover it with tinfoil and stick it in the fridge until I need it. It’s great for date night.
2. This makes more sauce than noodles so I always cook double the noodles and add more until I get the consistency I like.
3. I usually double the recipe and pour the extra into disposable foil (8×8) baking pans. I cover it with press n’ seal and then with tinfoil. I write the baking instructions on the top with a sharpie and then stick it in the freezer. (thaw before you bake)
4. For added texture, you can mix melted butter and bread crumbs until you get a streusel consistency and sprinkle it on top before you bake it.. my kids are wimpy when it comes to texture, so I leave it out.. but I have tried it, and I do like it.
5. When I can find it, I use whole wheat macaroni noodles. I also grind my own wheat and use that instead of all purpose flour.
6. It really only takes a few minutes to grate all that cheese, and it taste so much better freshly grated than using pkg’d
Macaroni & Cheese:
1 (8 oz.) pkg elbow macaroni
1/4 c. butter or margarine
1/4 c. all-purpose flour
1 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. pepper
2 c. milk
16 oz. cheddar cheese, grated (about 4 c.)

Cook macaroni according to package. Melt butter in pan. Stir in flour, salt and pepper until smooth. Gradually stir in milk. Bring to boil; stir. Remove from heat. Stir in cheese. Bake 15-20 minutes at 375 degrees until cheese is golden brown and bubbly. serves 4-6
3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2010 7:32 pm

    Mmm…yum! My only regret is not making this sooner 🙂

  2. November 2, 2010 10:08 am

    i'm babysitting two kids today and making this. Hopefully they all love it. It's cold and rainy here so it should be yummy eating something homemade and warm! Thanks Joelle! I've used SO MANY of your recipes in the last month!

  3. November 14, 2010 8:37 am

    Never boxed stuff again. We all loved it!

Leave a Reply

