Skip to content

Attack of the Banana Cream Pie

June 24, 2010

In my quest to be the perfect housewife/baker/kitchen dweller/mother this past Father’s Day I decided I was going to make my husbands favorite pie…banana cream. My mother-in-law does have a super good recipe but when I called her the day before she didn’t answer so I went to my favorite trusted site www.allrecipes.com. (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Banana-Cream-Pie-I/Detail.aspx, here is the link to the recipe I used) So, I whipped up this amazing pie (or so I thought) first thing Sunday morning so it would be set by dinner.

Around 1pm I check to see how it is doing and it has not set up at all…. And I am usually a pretty good baker so I go back to the recipe and realize I forgot to bake it! My bad, so I hurry and whip up another one (keep in mind I have read lots of the recipe reviews and I use corn starch instead of flour because everyone says it works better). I pour the pudding mixture over the bananas and realize I forgot the vanilla and butter! Seriously, I’m convinced this pie has it out for me. So I just pour some vanilla and butter on the top and mix it in with a knife, which you think would work. Then I bake it and put it in the fridge. I should also mention I also baked four other pies that same day, luckily they all turned out.

It is now 6pm and we have to leave for dinner so I decide to leave the two attempted banana cream pies in the fridge hoping time will help them set up. Well as of yesterday they were still not set up so they went in the trash!!! I waited so long for this post because I was hoping they would eventually firm up and be the most amazing pies my husband has ever had, but we never got to try them. I still have no idea why they wouldn’t set up, if their are any amazing bakers out there that know something I don’t, please enlighten me.  

So I was baking pies all morning so my husband had to make his own Father’s Day breakfast that I promised him, and I was re-baking pies all afternoon so he didn’t get any time to relax because he was watching our daughter, and he never got his favorite pie I also promised him!!!!! Happy Fathers day to him!! haha

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2010 2:20 pm

    this is so funny. Way to pull a Merica!! Sorry I can't help you on the pie front. that's a skill I have yet to master.

  2. June 29, 2010 7:19 pm

    I think you should try it again…let me know if you need more ingredients 🙂

  3. September 21, 2010 3:41 pm

    The only thing I can think of that might have gone wrong is you didn't heat the mixture on the stove to a high enough temperature for the corn starch to work its magic. You certainly don't want it to burn, but if you stir constantly, and let it bubble up to about double its original height, you can be pretty confident that it will thicken as it cools. I'm not sure I've ever seen a cream pie recipe that calls for baking the pie after cooking the custard on the stove…

Leave a Reply

