Skip to content

Carrot Cake

July 9, 2010

This is the best Carrot Cake recipie you will ever find, I PROMISE!! I have no idea where my mom got it but I do love it so. The frosting recipie is also amazing for cinnamon rolls or just about anything you want to taste heavenly.
Ingredients:
4 eggs
1 1/2 cups oil
2 cups sugar
2 cups grated carrots
1 can crushed pineapple
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
2 cups flour
2 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp salt

Frosting:
1 package cream cheese
1 stick softened butter
8oz pkg of powdered sugar
2 tsp vanilla

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 325.

2. Mix the eggs and oil (I use a hand mixer but you could use a Kitchen Aid or Bosch if you wanted), then mix in the sugar. Next add the carrots, pineapple and walnuts and mix.

3. In a seperate bowl mix all the dry ingredients and then mix into the wet ingredients. I would let them mix together for at least a minute. Pour into a greased 9 x 13 pan (if you are going to do round cakes I have learned the hard way the batter needs to be poured into 3 round pans and not 2). Bake for 35 minutes or until you can insert a toothpick in the middle and it comes out clean. Let cake completely cool before frosting.

Sidenote: I have made this cake many times and every single time the middle falls, and I am not the kind of person who likes 3 inches of frosting in the middle and barely any on the sides so I will tell you my secret little trick. I take a knife and cut the sides off and put them in the middle so it is level!!! I tell you, Martha Stewart has nothing on me! The best part is no one ever knows because the frosting covers it up.
For the frosting mix the cream cheese and butter until completely blended then add the vanilla and powdered sugar.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2010 9:49 am

    This sounds yummy! Did you mean 2 cups of grated carrot? I didn't know you could grate sugar πŸ™‚ Can't wait to try this!

  2. July 10, 2010 7:54 pm

    Joelle, I have been reading this book that has reminded me of you and your couponing and cooking. It's called "Family Feasts for $75 a Week". The author gives great ideas for saving money on food and then gives a lot of really yummy recipes. I've tried about 4 of them and they are good! love you! And by the way, my husband loves the name of this blog. When he saw it, he said, "that's absolutely right". πŸ™‚

  3. July 13, 2010 10:32 am

    Mmm…i love it!! And I like your little secret trick πŸ™‚

  4. July 16, 2010 11:28 am

    oh yeah, yeah…logan is going to be SO happy…he loves that carrot cake. I will totally have to give it a try!

  5. September 3, 2010 4:32 pm

    I'm not going to lie..it looks like a big pile of…in the middle. πŸ™‚ But other then that, it looks delish. Haha. Love you.

Leave a Reply

