Skip to content

What is it?

September 3, 2010

The following is a true and embarrassing story, lucky for you I have no shame so I am going to share it with you. So the other day my wonderful neighbor brought us over the following…

(the hand and orange are there so you can truly grasp the largeness)
Anyways, being the true “kitchen dweller” that I am, I asked her what it was. hahahaa (I hope you don’t think less of me because I can still cook) and yes I have seen zucchini before but it has been a long time since one has been in my kitchen, and by that I mean there has never been one in my kitchen until now. So it is my new quest to come up with something delicious to make with this very large zucchini. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!
Like what you see? Follow me.
9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2010 8:59 am

    Zucchini bread!!

  2. September 3, 2010 9:30 am

    I like to cook zucchini with onions, olive oil, garlic, salt, and pepper. It's a yummy side dish with pasta or on pasta.

  3. September 3, 2010 11:53 am

    I have a version of this recipe that I make with zucchini. It's delicious! http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Zucchini-Patties/Detail.aspx Basically you bake them instead of fry them and you serve them with spaghetti sauce with Parmesan and whole wheat pasta and I call it Zucchini Parmesan! It's pretty fabulous. I have a stuffed zucchini recipe too that would be great if you ever get any normal size zucchini. Whatever you do with it have fun scraping out all the crap in the middle.

  4. September 3, 2010 2:06 pm

    You must be joking…..right.!? I didnt know about Zucchini meatloaf till I was in this family. Cut the beautiful thing in half, scoop out the seeds, put your meatloaf inside and stick it on an cookie sheet covered with foil. 350 and an hr later you eat it with spaghetti sauce. This is the only vegie/meal my kids will eat without complaining. Enjoy! And jealous.

  5. September 3, 2010 3:39 pm

    zucchini fritters. shred up the zucchini and add an egg, about a cup of breadcrumbs, parmesan cheese, salt and pepper, and mix it all together. Shape them into pancake like patties, and then pan fry them til they are crispy, then flip and wait til other side is crispy. really good with sour cream ranch dip, or marinara sauce, or whatever else. My mom came up with that one. 🙂

  6. September 3, 2010 5:20 pm

    zucchini bread! Or fried zucchini!

  7. September 4, 2010 10:20 am

    seeing as you have an orange too, You could make chocolate chip orange zucchini bread. It's on allrecipes and it's to die for!! If you want a fall/holidays preview.. the smells and flavor..

  8. September 4, 2010 10:20 am

    Tiff, I need to try your meatloaf. that sounds so good

  9. September 23, 2010 12:21 pm

    Another thing to do with giant zucchinis: fend off attacking bears. http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/39325889/ns/us_news-weird_news

Leave a Reply

