Skip to content

Flaky Good Pie Crust

September 13, 2010
This is a very easy and flaky pie crust I got off allrecipes.com. It is the one I make whenever I need crust. This recipe makes enough for three of four pies depending on the thickness. I will usually make two crusts for my Chicken Pot Pie and make an extra single crust pie for dessert if I am feeling crazy! Then if there is any crust remaining I will just roll it out and sprinkle it with cinnamon and sugar, put it on a cookie sheet and make some delicious pie crust cookies.
Ingredients:
4 cups all-purpose flour

1 3/4 cups shortening
3 tbs white sugar
2 tsp salt
1 egg
1/2 cup water

Directions:

1. In a large mixing bowl, combine all-purpose flour, shortening, sugar, and salt. Blend together with a pastry cutter until crumbly. (I did not have a pastry cutter till about a week ago and before that I would just use a fork and it turned out perfect every time. The picture below is what it should look before adding the egg and water, nice and crumbly.)

2. In a small bowl, mix egg with water (be sure to use very cold water, I think it makes a big difference.
I will sometimes make ice water and take the water from the cup to make sure it is cold). Blend into flour mixture. Chill in refrigerator until ready to use.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

