Skip to content

Birthday Disaster

September 24, 2010

Big Daddy’s birthday is tomorrow and I always make it my special quest to get him the best, most thought out presents. Because secretly deep down he LOVES opening presents even though he won’t admit it.

Before I get started on last nights tragic events lets rewind to this same time last year. I was told not to buy him anything because he didn’t need anything. So I bought him (of course I got him something, I know he really doesn’t mean it) a pair of Under Armour shorts and a pair of padded biking shorts. I got him both of these because he needed them both. I also got them like a month before his birthday because I love birthdays!

Then about a week before his birthday he asks if I got him anything, and I tried to lie, but I am no good at it so he knew right away I did. Then he proceeded to guilt trip me into feeling bad, saying he told me not to buy anything and so on and so forth. He tells me just to return whatever I bought him, so I go and get both things and he sees them and all the sudden he changes his mind!!!! What the! So then he decides he really does need them and I should just keep them!!!! I was so bitter. I debated just returning them that whole week just to show him how mad I was. His birthday came and he got both presents he already knew about.

Now back to last night. I had bought him a pair of Red Wing boots because he is really hard on his boots during the winter and they never last more then a year. So I wanted to get him something he has wanted for quite some time. And you may be wondering when I got them…I will tell you, about two weeks ago. I paid for them with a check because he NEVER checks our bank account. And I am sure you can guess the rest of the story.

Last night he comes in from school and the first thing out of his mouth is “would you be mad if I told you something?” he doesn’t even wait for me to respond, “I saw something online today.” SERIOUSLY?????? It’s true, he checked the bank account. He claims he just wanted to see how much money we have…ya right! So he looks up the company I made the check out to, and he tells me he doesn’t really like anything he sees online so he hopes the boots I got him aren’t ugly or he is going to have to return them right away. But don’t worry he has already thanked me for the nice gesture of getting him boots!!!

This is the second year of him ruining my awesome birthday gifts for him. Next year he is getting a can of Spam. And maybe I won’t even give him his boots tomorrow.

And I know you all must be wondering what I am feeling like….hahaha, well now you know.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2010 12:21 pm

    Hahahhahaha you are such a freak.And boooooo to your husband.

  2. September 24, 2010 1:26 pm

    Wow. This is the story of my life. Andrew's not quite so bad, but I seriously put a ton of thought into the present and then when the time comes he somehow finds out what it is and is skeptical which completely RUINS it for me. I say take the boots back and get him some super ugly ones just so that he has to return them. Get him some pink ones.

  3. September 24, 2010 2:26 pm

    Haha. Joelle you crack me up! Good luck!

  4. September 24, 2010 7:58 pm

    I 2nd the Spam for next year…a girl doesn't like her hard work spoiled!

  5. September 25, 2010 9:56 am

    ah male chi at work again! 😛

  6. September 26, 2010 9:50 pm

    You can buy me surprise presents anytime and I will love them and never want to return them.

Leave a Reply

