Skip to content

Banana Oat Muffins

October 9, 2010
The other morning I was really wanting some good banana muffins, so I went to my favorite source http://www.allrecipes.com/, found a few different recipes that sounded yummy and combined them while adding some other things. The result was truly amazing!!!! I must say maybe, I should have been a baker…oh that’s right, I am a self proclaimed baker and that is even better! Since I used whole wheat and applesauce to make these healthy I was nervous they would turn out dry; however, they were quite the opposite and super moist.

 You first beat the egg.
Then add the applesauce, vanilla and milk.
 Next the mashed bananas.

 Add the mashed bananas and sugar and mix it all together.

 Now for the fun part. Add the dry ingredients.

 I am not a believer in mixing the dry ingredients before hand (call me lazy if you must). I just add them to the top of the wet mixture and use a spoon or something to mix them together on the top without mixing in the wet mixture. Brilliant, I know! I do this with just about every recipe I make.

Then once I have the dry ingredients mixed, I mix it all together just until it is blended.

 I then use a 1/3 cup and spoon it into my baking sheet.

 And when they are finished, butter and eat! A warning, if you are planning to eat them while they are still warm I would not use liners because they will stick if they are not cooled. Instead you could just grease the muffin pan.

Now for those of you who are wanting something extra special…. put on this amazing crumb topping and these muffins will change your life.

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups wheat flour
1 cup quick oats (or rolled)
1/4 cup white sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 egg
3/4 cup milk
1/3 cup applesauce
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup mashed bananas

Crumb Topping:

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup quick oats (or rolled)
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 cup butter 
 
Directions:
 
1. Preheat over to 375 F. Either grease muffin tin or line with baking cups.

2. In a large bowl, beat the egg lightly. Stir in the milk, applesauce, and vanilla. Add the mashed banana and sugar, and combine thoroughly. Add the dry ingredients and mix until just combined. Divide the batter among them the muffin tin (when I made this recipe I got 18 muffins).

(If you are doing the crumb topping, cut all the ingredients together with a pastry knife or fork until nice and crumbly then add to the top of the muffin batter)

3. Bake for 13-17 minutes or until you can insert a toothpick and it comes out clean. If using baking cups be sure the muffin is completely cooled before removing from the cup or it will stick.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2010 10:59 am

    those sound yummy! I think I will have to try them!

  2. October 9, 2010 11:03 am

    I have GOT to become your neighbor.

Leave a Reply

