Skip to content

Red Sauce Enchiladas

October 21, 2010

This is without question my favorite meal. I LOVE these enchiladas!!!! Pair these up with some of those black beans I posted yesterday and I could eat it everyday. These do take a little bit of time to make but it is worth it. You can also just make double the filling and freeze half of it, then the next time you want to make them you will just have to pull it out of the freezer and let it defrost. Very convenient.

First you mix all the inside goodness together. (Do not pay attention to the dried onion, I did not have enough fresh onion at the time). Make sure to add the secret ingredient…a dill pickle!!! So good.

 Then you mix in your shredded chicken.

Next, you add some filling to a corn tortilla.

 Pour just a spoonful of sauce over it.

 And top with a little cheese.

Roll them up and place seam down in a greased pan.

 Cover the tops with the remaining sauce and cheese.

 And bake till nice and bubbly.

Ingredients:

1 medium onion – chopped, sauteed
1 can fire roasted chilies
1 can olives – sliced
1 large dill pickle – diced
2 chicken breasts – cooked and shredded
1 large can enchilada sauce or 2 regular sized cans (can be found in the Mexican isle, La Victoria is my fav.)
12 corn tortillas
12 oz cheese

Directions:

1. Bake and shred your chicken. (I just put mine in the oven at 350 F. topped with salt and pepper, for about 15 minutes or until it is cooked through.) Preheat oven to 350 F. Lightly grease 9 x 13 pan.

2. Chop and saute your onion in butter, just until soft. Add onions to a large bowl with chilies, diced pickle, and sliced olives. Mix in shredded chicken.

3. Put some filling into a tortilla, pour one spoonful of sauce over the top and add a tiny bit of cheese. Roll can place seam down in pan. Continue until pan is full and the filling is used. If I have left over filling I will just sprinkle it over the enchiladas in the pan.

4. Pour the remaining sauce over the enchiladas and cover with cheese. Bake for 25-30 mins, until bubbly. Top with sour cream, guacamole, salsa, or whatever your heart desires.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2010 10:45 am

    there's a pickle in them?? I never knew! and I hate pickles…lol

  2. October 22, 2010 11:48 am

    Joelle has made these for me.. not to brad or anything, but I have to give her credit by letting you all know that these are THE BOMB!

  3. October 27, 2010 12:19 pm

    Jo: I tried this recipe last night and OH MY FLYING COWS that was good!!! I didn't have time to do the chicken so I bought the rotisserie style which was super nice and my stinkin corn tortillas kept ripping so I ended up layering them and making it an enchilada cassorole! Thank you Thank you! It was delish!

  4. October 29, 2010 2:01 pm

    I like cutting up the onion and boiling it with the chicken when I cook enchiladas. I think it gives the chicken a little bit more taste. Trying these tomorrow night!

  5. November 1, 2010 10:32 am

    I like to use green sauce for my enchiladas, but the red is good too. I generally put the chicken and a can of the sauce and a sliced onion in the crock pot and let it stew for 4 hours. Then I shred it and mix cheese into the mix along with black beans and corn. It's tasty!

Leave a Reply

