Skip to content

Mental note to self.

October 23, 2010

Do not hide in the bathroom and scare your one year old as she walks by.

So a couple nights ago lil Sas and I were playing before bed (and by playing I mean I was crawling after her and attacking/tickling her). She was loving it and laughing so hard. So I thought it would be fun to hide in the hallway and grab her as she walked by. So I did, and she screamed and started laughing. We continued playing in the living room for about five more minutes and I get the brilliant idea to hide in the dark bathroom so when she walked by I could scare her (if you are thinking this sounds like a good idea I will tell you…..bad idea).

Then she comes walking by all happy and smiley to find me (she was heading to the bedroom), and she turned to look into the dark bathroom and their I was crouched down and I said “boo” (another bad idea). She was so upset!!! Started doing the hyperventilation cry… you know the one where they don’t breath for long amounts of time. I felt so awful, and continue to feel awful. That night she slept so bad, and would wake up like every few hours screaming (she never wakes up). This morning big daddy said she would just look into the bathroom while she was still in the living room and start crying. And when I just tried to put her down for a nap, (she will usually take my hand and walk with me past the bathroom and into her room). She took my hand and wouldn’t move from the living room, she even sat down and started crying! So I had to pick her up and carry her.

The moral of the story… I may have scarred my child for life. Ahhhh, one of the joys of parenthood.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2010 9:07 am

    Mental note to self: Joe is mental.

  2. October 23, 2010 6:52 pm

    Hahaha. I'll be sure to not do that. 🙂 Actually….whenever Jeff gets home from school, I'll hide with London in a dark place until he finds us and then scare him…so…maybe she'll be used to that by the time she's her age??!!?!? Probably not.

  3. October 24, 2010 8:29 am

    Wow sooooo sad…but I have to admit I can't stop laughing!!! Maybe you should bring a plate of cookies into the bathroom to show her its still a good place 🙂

  4. October 24, 2010 7:11 pm

    Hate to tell you, sounds like she's on the road to being a freak like me. Way to go, mom.

Leave a Reply

