Skip to content

Caramel Apples

October 24, 2010

What is better than a caramel apple in the fall? A caramel apple covered in walnuts and chocolate! YUMMY! I just posted this recipe on my friend’s blog as a special guest post (I know what you are thinking, I am becoming way to famous…what can I say) anyway, of course I had to share it with you too!

Disclaimer:
Before you view the following photos please note I do not profess to be a professional caramel apple decorator. I am more the type to just throw on the goodness because I will just be eating it right after the picture is taken. Am I alone in my thought process? I think not.

The first step in making caramel apples is un-wrapping the dreaded little caramel squares…very time consuming….very rewarding.

 Then lay out all you toppings because you have to act fast to get the nuts (or whatever you are using) to stick to the hot caramel.

 Melt the caramel and the milk together, stirring constantly.

 Place the apple in the caramel and use a spoon to cover the apple with caramel. Then place on a greased cookie sheet. (The wax paper was no good! All my apple bottoms got stuck, who knew?)

 Cover with your favorite toppings.

 Slice and share!

Ingredients:

4 granny smith apples
1 14 oz package caramels (I just bought bulk and used 47 pieces)
2 tbs milk
4 popsicle sticks (if you want to put them on sticks, I didn’t)
any delicious toppings you desire

Directions:

1. Grease a cookie sheet. Melt caramels and milk on low, stirring constantly.

2. Once caramel is melted cover apples with the caramel and place on cookie sheet. Decorate wtih your favorite toppings.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2010 4:54 pm

    These look amazing. Thanks for posting this on my blog. I hope you get some new readers from this and I am going to try this tomorrow for FHE refreshments I think. YUM!!!

  2. October 25, 2010 10:21 am

    Oh man. Need.

  3. October 25, 2010 11:01 am

    Hey Jo. I just did 60 gourmet caramel apples for neighbors and the school carnival, so i have some tips for bulk.1. grannysmith are good, but I prefere golden delicious2. for 60 apples there is no way i was about to unwrap caramel cubes all day. You can buy 5 lb bricks of creamy gourmet carmel called peter's caramel.. google it. the cheapest place is in utah called gygi. 3. they also sell caramel apple sticks and they're cheap.4. I also drizzle white and brown chocolate and then sprinkle cinnamon sugar.. HEAVEN, although i haven't tried the nuts so I'm going to have to do that next time because it looks so good.5. I cut up the brick of caramel into smaller pieces and heat up ever so slowly on low with a little evaporated milk.. not much.6. apples from the grocery store have wax on them making it harder for the caramel to stick, so if you have an apple orchard or farmers market near by that comes in handy.. not to mention their usually cheaper7. after they are done, I agree, spray pam on a cookie sheet and put them in the fridge. When they are chilled and dry, put them in cellophane bags with cute ribbon to give to friends, neighbors, teachers..

  4. October 26, 2010 9:41 am

    Joelle, when November rolls around can you give some good recipes for Thanksgiving Dinners? This is my first time cooking one and I need help!! (not saying like, a turkey, but maybe side dishes or desserts?)

  5. October 29, 2010 11:47 am

    Yum!! I'm making caramel apples on Sunday. And an fyi, I was at the store buying the goodies and they have pre-UNWRAPPED caramels!

Leave a Reply

