Skip to content

Mashed Potatoes

November 3, 2010
Homemade mashed potatoes are definitely top 3 of my favorite Thanksgiving foods. I mean they are right up there with fresh rolls, pumpkin pie, green bean casserole, sweet potatoes….oh wait, maybe I just love EVERYTHING about Thanksgiving. They are so easy to make and yet so many people use potato pearls or flakes! Well I will let you in on my mashed potato secret that will make them a favorite every time.

First peel and wash your potatoes.

Then chop them up into pieces. The smaller the pieces the faster they will cook.

Cover them completely with water and let them boil until you can poke a fork into a piece and it is soft.

Strain them and then mash them. If I want them more chunky I will just use a hand masher, but if I am wanting some creamy whipped potatoes I bust out my hand mixer.

This Nature’s Seasons is the key to perfect potatoes every single time! I am not kidding, it is the best mix of seasonings. Yum! So you mash your potatoes with butter, milk and sour cream or cream cheese. The sour cream and cream cheese are optional. I have tried both and used neither many times before and no matter what, if I use my special seasoning they are great!

This is going to be more of a list of ingredients because I think the key to making the best mashed potatoes is to just add a little and keep tasting till you reach the perfect taste and consistency you like.

Ingredients:

potatoes (I would do at least one potato per guest, mashed potatoes are always a huge hit so I will usually do two or so)
butter (start with at least 1/4 cup and add more if you want)
milk (you will need at least 1/2 cup)
sour cream or cream cheese (I will usually just add a big scoop of which ever one I have)
Nature’s Seasons (just sprinkle a little on, mix it in and taste it, and keep adding till you feel it is right)

Directions:

1. Peel, wash and chop potatoes. Place in a large pot, cover completely with water and let boil until you can poke the potato with a fork and it is soft (approx 20 min, depending on the size of chunks).

2. Strain potatoes and return to pot. Mix in the remaining ingredients according to the desired taste.

3. ENJOY!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

