Skip to content

Melting Snowman Sugar Cookies w/ Cake Balls

December 3, 2010
Once there was a snowman, snowman, snowman. Once there was a snowman. Tall, tall, tall.

 In the sun he melted, melted,

 melted.

 In the sun he melted, small, small, small…

With that being said here is my brilliant idea I had while wandering around Walmart the other day.

These cookies were soooooo fun to make and they are so adorable!!!!! Time consuming, but well worth it! They are the perfect holiday treat.
These have many steps to equal perfection. First you need to make your sugar cookies and cake balls.

Put them in the freezer to firm up. And when you are ready to dip them chop off a side so you have a flat bottom.

 Then you need to make your top hats. Here is what I used.

 I dipped my marshmallows.

Stuck them on the cookies and then when the chocolate dried I dipped the bottom of the cookies into the chocolate.
 I made my icing and poured a spoonful onto my cookies. 

 I used Almond Bark in a Ziploc bag to squeeze out some branch arms.

 I used a straw to poke out pieces of Fruit by the Foot for the mouths. I also used the Fruit by the Foot for the scarves. I just rolled it out and cut it into three longs sections using a pizza cutter.

For the noses I used orange Starbursts that I just cut. And for the coal eyes and buttons I just used my favorite mini chocolate chips.
Ingredients:
Cake Balls (Just make one box of cake mix according to the box directions. When it is cooled crumble it up with a tub of pre-made frosting. I used vanilla for both flavors. Then just it up into balls like in the pic above and chill until you are ready to use.)
Almond Bark (Chocolate and Vanilla)
Mini Marshmallows
Rite Bite Fudgeshop cookies
Starbursts
Fruit by the Foot
Directions:
1. Make your top hats by melting chocolate Almond Bark and dipping the marshmallows into the chocolate. Place the dipped marshmallow onto you mini Fudgeshop cookie. When the chocolate is dry, dip the bottom of the cookie into the chocolate. Place on wax paper to dry.
2. Prepare you noses, scarves and mouths. Cut noses out of orange Starbursts. Slice the Fruit by the Foot into thin strips for the scarves and use a straw to punch mouths out of the Fruit by the Foot.
3. Melt your vanilla Almond Bark. Cut one side off your cake ball to make a flat surface. Pour a spoonful of icing onto your sugar cookie. Dip you cake ball into the Almond Bark (I used a fork in the flat end of the cake ball). Place your dipped cake pop flat side down onto your cookie and decorate to your hearts desire!
If you haven’t already become a fan on my Facebook page click HERE and join the fun!
5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2010 8:39 am

    oh. my. gosh. could you be any cuter? this is the best thing i have ever seen.

  2. December 4, 2010 8:39 am

    hey girl found your blog on nicoles miss the avonlea days girl great to see you. Lesha (old roommate from BYUi days)

  3. December 4, 2010 1:34 pm

    So cute! Love these. You are very creative. They look delicious!

  4. December 4, 2010 2:11 pm

    I can't think of a better word than cute right now. Because these definitely deserve more than being just cute. Brilliant…that's more like it. Maybe you should wander around Walmart more often

  5. December 12, 2010 2:15 pm

    These are seriously adorable. I think I might have to make these…I'll just lock Fletcher in his room so I have time to make them. It will be worth it, he'll understand.

Leave a Reply

