Skip to content

Couponing…Take One.

January 3, 2011
Here is what I scored today at Alberstons. 10 boxes of Finish dish detergent (that is 200 dish washer cycles!) and 11 bags of Planter Flavor Grove nuts. My total $10.43…woohoo! I am addicted to couponing and want to teach all of you who want to know my ways.
To be a truly successful couponer you have to keep your coupons and only use them when there is a SWEET sale to use them with. For example in the paper yesterday there was an insert that had a manufacturer coupon for $2.25 off 1 Finish 20 ct. Powerball or Gelpacs. There was also another manufacturer coupon for $1 of 1 Finish 20 ct. Powerball or Gelpacs, and since my Albertsons has doublers (this is when Albersons will double any manufacturer coupon up to $1) out currently. That means I could use the $1 off manufacturer coupon and one of Alberstons doublers coupons; therefore getting $2 off. Confused enough?
So those were the coupons I had for the dish detergent, and there happened to be a sale on the Finish 20 ct. Powerball or Gelpac boxes. Each box was on sale for $2.99. So when I used the manufacturer coupon of $2.25 off the total for those boxes were only $.74!! Brilliant, and when I used the $1 off manufacturer coupon and doubled it with the Albertsons coupon it made the total for those boxes $.99!!! See how fantastic that is. Not to mention soooo much cheaper than store brands!
This is only a sneak peak at the crazy confusion associated with couponing. I will be posting more but be sure to leave your questions so I can answer them!!

And no this has nothing to do with the nuts but if you would like to know how much they cost me, I will tell you. $.06 sales tax per bag aka, free. I had a $1 off 1 bag manufacturer coupon and they were on sale for $2, so I used my $1 manufacturer coupon and doubled it with the Albertsons coupon = free…or $.06, because you always have to pay sales tax.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 3, 2011 7:58 pm

    I love to coupon! I'm still trying to catch up from this last semester though. I am officially only 2 weeks behind in getting my coupons cut out and organized! That's what we should do one night! Coupon night, cut out and trade coupons and eat treats!

Leave a Reply

