Skip to content

My attempt at being crafty.

March 16, 2011

It is apparent to me that I have a lack of stalkers in the town in which I dwell, because only one person has entered my amazing giveaway…or maybe they all just want to continue with their non-zumba lives and remain unhappy. That must be it. With that said, onto more exciting things happening in my ever entertaining life.

 I would first like to say that I am not crafty. By that, I mean I do not have the patience for crafts. If I start a project and it isn’t done in approx. 10 minutes then I am so over it. But I am bound to change my ways and am on a quest to be that “crafty person.” You know, the one that you want to be…making all the things your neighbors envy. I found this very ugly(if you like Dora please excuse that previous comment) toy chest last week at a local thrift store and I decided I was going to make it beautiful.

So I sanded it a little, by hand. Lets be honest, sanding by hand sucks…so it was short lived.

Then I attempted to spray paint it. Two cans later it looked like this. Still pink and Doraed.


Then I went and bought some paint and it started to look real good. I bought new baskets at Michaels and here is the finished product.


Here is what I learned. This was a spendy toy chest project and I think I could have found a new one for less. I am finding that the initial crafting process is expensive but once you already have the supplies it gets cheaper…hopefully, or I quit.

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica Apsley permalink
    March 16, 2011 12:35 pm

    You should have offered less for the toy chest and you could have bought a $3 can of paint and primer at home depot that would have covered nicely. You really should call me before attempting a craft project. It’s all about knowing what to use. Also, that thing would look really cool if you took off the back and filled in the holes with wood filler and of course painted again. I love crafty stuff and it looks really good.

  2. colleen permalink
    March 16, 2011 1:16 pm

    Well at least it looks great. :O)

  3. March 16, 2011 1:57 pm

    I think you did great. It’s all about the right supplies. Spray paint sucks when it comes to coverage. Sand, Prim, Sand again, Paint. For your first go it’s awesome!

  4. Elissa permalink
    March 16, 2011 3:02 pm

    I think you should paint yours and Big Daddy’s heads where Dora’s head was. It will fulfill its calling as the best re-crafted toy chest ever.

  5. Meagan permalink
    March 16, 2011 3:46 pm

    Looks awesome! Great job. Love the baskets. So cute.

  6. March 16, 2011 8:26 pm

    With you on the whole no patience for crafts bandwagon. Totally why I bought into the jewelry making thing….you start it, and in as short as 5 minutes you have a finished product.

    I dont think anyone will ever succeed at making me a scrapbooker though…not even Tiffany or Beth. I can appreciate their work, I just can’t get into it myself…

  7. Megan R permalink
    March 18, 2011 12:52 pm

    Oh I love it!!! I’m shocked that 2 cans didn’t do the trick. What brand were you using? I shall show you the kind I use when you get here…it is $3.44 a can, covers everything and lasts for several projects. Those baskets are adorable. I shall make you some cute vinyl to go on it. Where do you want it on the box and what color?

    • Megan R permalink
      March 18, 2011 12:53 pm

      I used “shall” a lot. I rule.

  8. Megan R permalink
    March 18, 2011 12:54 pm

    Ooooh we should make pillows or bench seat for it, too!!

  9. March 19, 2011 8:09 am

    Nice work! I am so proud!

Leave a Reply

