Skip to content

Idaho Falls Airport Review

March 27, 2011

Flight time 6:40 am.

5:11 am alarm goes off.

5:42 am leave apartment.

6:06 am arrive at airport, notice no one is in line at the counter so I take my time saying bye to BD.

6:10 am walk into the airport.

6:11 am arrive at the check-in counter, where a rude worker (who is on the phone) informs me that I can no longer check my bag because it is less than thirty minutes before my plane is supposed to leave, so I can either condense everything into a carry-on or change flights. I look at her in disbelief because I have arrived at larger airports with much less time and have no problem. I pull out my phone and it does indeed say 6:11 am. I feel my blood instantly boil and start to get real angry. I’m sure my face gets bright red like it usually does when I get mad. She continues to tell me there is nothing she can do about it, and all I can think of is, “really? Are you feet broken because the airplane is about 20 ft from where we are standing and you could easily walk yourself out there and personally put it in the plane with plenty of time left before my plane leaves.”

She also says, “you really should be here an hour before your plane leaves.”

Then I say, “Yes in a perfect world I would have been here an hour before but I had no idea about your policy.” I continue being irritated and she is still holding the phone to her face so whomever she is talking to can hear this whole conversation (great customer service).

Then she looks at me and says, “so are you going to compact it into a carry-on?”

So I say, “what carry-on? I am just going to pull one out of my butt?” Ok, I didn’t say that but it is what I thought. What I really said was, “I obviously don’t have a carry-on, so I guess, change my flight.”

You still may be asking yourself…why didn’t they just check your bag? I assure you I am still asking myself this same question. When I asked why not this is all she said, “the thing just doesn’t work anymore and we can’t do it.” The thing? If I wasn’t so pissed and it wasn’t so early I would have had great things to say about that.

Anyway, she proceeds to help the trainee book my new flight (and yes, she is still on the phone). $50 and a new flight later, I am then given a sticky note with a number on it. I am then told to walk over to the self check-in kiosk and check myself in with my confirmation number on the sticky note. I am still the only one at the counter with no one in line behind me. So, I walk over and check myself in ( I am still to flabbergasted at this point to really get angry with people). Then the beast on the phone finally leaves.

I walk back to the counter check my bag, that can magically be checked for a different flight just not for mine. I am about to walk away and start to see clearly so I ask, “did you happen to add a lap child onto my ticket.” Of course not. So back I go and the trainee did it wrong (I don’t blame her I blame the crazy lady on the phone). Then lady number three comes to help redo my ticket. Blah, blah, blah. It gets fixed and I inform the new lady how rude the first lady was and that maybe since they had lots of people standing around doing nothing and they don’t inform people of their retarded policy (I could see it being valid in an airpot with more than three gates) and they could clearly see I had a bag that needed to be checked they could have come and told me I had limited time…and then I walk away, slowly getting over my irritation because life happens.

We fly to Salt Lake….Lil Sas entertains the crowds with her cuteness and licks a garbage can….it was a fun day.

A couple days later when the customer service/bag checking survey came from Delta I could not have been happier to fill it out for them.

The end.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica Apsley permalink
    March 27, 2011 10:10 pm

    You should send them a scathing letter and demand your $50 back. That’s ridiculous.

  2. March 28, 2011 12:52 am

    That is a very sad/irritating story, but I know how you feel. I had something similar happen to me in Durango. Hope your trip to WA was fun! Can’t wait to hear about it!

  3. Meagan permalink
    March 28, 2011 1:12 pm

    Wow. I would have been so furious!! UGH. Sometimes I REALLY hate people. I’m glad you made it safely. I didn’t know Savannah licked garbage cans too. I often choose to do that, saves me lots of money on food when I’m traveling.

  4. Justin permalink
    March 29, 2011 10:56 pm

    Delta airlines is lame I hate flying on them. Crappy customer service. I have recently become a fan of southwest airlines. They ten times better

  5. Megan R permalink
    March 30, 2011 7:12 am

    Delta does indeed have the worst customer service. I hope you got her name. I can’t believe they weren’t more helpful for a woman with a child. Seriously, you should have just said you would take your luggage to the airplane yourself.

Leave a Reply

