Skip to content

Homemade Oreos

March 31, 2011

Since you are all aware of my cookie addiction, I thought in celebration of posting more recipes (I needed a cooking break) I would make some homemade Oreos. I searched and searched for the perfect recipe and I think I found it. Big Daddy said they were even better than Oreos, and that means a lot coming from him. Make sure you have a big glass of cold milk ready when you eat these bad boys.

The first step is to let your crazy kiddo mix all the dry ingredients.

Then beat in the butter and egg until the dough comes together.

Next is the fun part, just use you hands and form little circles as thick as you want. I did mine a little on the thin side because I wanted the outside crunchy like a real Oreo, but I think the next time I make them I will do them a little thicker.

Then make your frosting. Be sure to get messy while enjoying the beaters.

Then plop a generous spoonful of frosting onto one cookie and smash another one on top! Mmmmmmm.

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cup flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup plus 2 tbsp butter, room temperature
1 egg

Frosting:

1/2 cup butter, room temperature
2 cups powdered sugar
2 tsp vanilla

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 F. Lightly grease a cookie sheet.
2. Mix all the dry ingredients in a medium mixing bowl.
3. Add the butter and egg and beat until well mixed.
4.  Place a ball of dough on the cookie sheet and press flat with your hands. You can also use cookie cutters if you would like, once the dough is flat.
5. Bake for approx 9 mins. Place on cooling racks to dry.

Frosting:

1. Beat all the ingredients together  on a medium speed for at least three minutes (this is important, it makes it light and fluffy)

Recipe from www.cupcakeproject.com

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 6:32 pm

    Oh my gosh, Lil Sas is getting so big! I miss you guys! Dont move until Decmber, deal?

  2. April 1, 2011 11:25 am

    I LOVE homemade oreos! I usually just mix a chocolate cake mix with a 1/4 cup oil and 2 eggs. I bet this recipe is better! I’ve tried making my own frosting and it never works out. I’ll have to try this recipe and see if it’s the recipe I was using, or just me! Also, I was just wondering about the Zumba punch card. I went to the desk to ask about it, and they said you’d come and got them. I don’t really know who you are though. I have short hair. I usually go to zumba Wed. mornings and Thurs. nights. In the mornings I’m usually late and bring my 2 little blond boys.

  3. Meagan permalink
    April 1, 2011 3:41 pm

    Mmmm…these look very delicious.

  4. April 1, 2011 5:09 pm

    I love these, and honestly I kind of forgot about them! My family, or I should say Bryce’s family, use to make them all the time…and I don’t think I have ever attempted them. So, thanks for the recipe, I’ll be sure to make them after I have finished off all the other goodies I’ve been making lately (bring on the lbs!)

  5. Megan R permalink
    April 7, 2011 10:50 am

    Mmmmm…Adam would love this. If you baked them, of course. Everything I bake is STILL nasty.

Leave a Reply

