Skip to content

Stuffed Zucchini

September 5, 2010

Thanks for all the ideas of what to make with my HUGE zucchini. I first decided to make a stuffed zucchini that is apparently a hit with my family ( I don’t live by them so how was I supposed to know?) … It is basically a meatloaf cooked in the hallowed out middle of the zucchini topped with marinara sauce and cheese. So I invited a couple of neighbors over to test out my creation. Everyone liked it so that is good news. I will be honest though, I would have given it a 7.5 out of a 10, I just don’t think I am a real zucchini/squash person. I do still have a half of the zucchini left so I will be making zucchini bread (I have had that and I love it!) tomorrow and I will let you know how it turns out.

Ingredients:

2 medium zucchinis
2 lbs ground beef
1/4 cup finely chopped onion
1 tsp celery seed
1 tbs Worcestershire sauce
1 1/2 tsp salt
1/8 tsp pepper
1/2 tsp poultry seasoning
1 tsp Italian seasoning
2 eggs
3/4 cup milk
3 cups soft bread cubes (1/2 inch cubes)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Lightly grease a 9 x 13 glass pan.

2.Cut the zucchinis in half and scrape the seeds out of the center. Place zucchini halves inside up in the pan. In a small fry pan saute the onions in 1 tbs butter. In a large mixing bowl combine eggs, milk, Italian seasoning, poultry seasoning, pepper, salt, Worcestershire sauce and celery seed. Add bread cubes and allow them time to soak up most of the milk mixture (I only had wheat bread so I used that for my bread crumbs and it turned out fine).

3. Add the ground beef and onions to the bread mixture and mix thoroughly. Form into four round loaves to fit into the zucchini (I had mine piled about an inch above the zucchini because the beef shrinks when it cooks). Cover with tin foil and cook for 40 minutes then remove the tin foil and cook for an additional 20 minutes or until the meatloaf is cooked. Cook time will vary depending on the size of your zucchini (I cooked mine for about 2 hours, but that is because my zucchini was so large).

4. Cover the meatloaf and zucchini with your favorite marinara and top with mozzarella cheese. Return to oven until cheese is melted.

Like what you see? Follow me!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2010 7:24 am

    Oh that looks so yummy! Good job!

  2. September 6, 2010 8:07 am

    I've made a chocolate zucchini cake that is really good. I don't really use zucchini all that much either. I usually just chop it up and serve it with Marinara sauce over pasta.

  3. September 6, 2010 1:17 pm

    I'm way impressed with the picture. It does look delish!

  4. September 6, 2010 4:12 pm

    For all of you vegetable haters out there I am right there with you….but this is a WHOLE different story. This is so DELICIOUS that you don't even know you are eating vegetables!! I give this an A++!!

  5. September 7, 2010 8:18 pm

    I can testify that this dish is super yummy!!! And, the fact that it is a useful way to use those over-grown zucchini's is an added bonus!

Leave a comment